Editor Profile

Anne S. Tsao, MD

Associate Editor

About the NEJM Journal Oncology and Hematology Board

Dr. Tsao is an Associate Professor in the Department of Thoracic/Head & Neck Medical Oncology at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC). She is the Director of the Mesothelioma Program and the Director of the Thoracic Chemo-Radiation Program at MDACC. Dr. Tsao is a clinician scientist and an expert in the treatment of patients with both thoracic and head and neck cancers. She conducts both clinical and translational laboratory research and focuses on identifying new therapeutic targets and developing novel strategies for the treatment of aerodigestive cancers and mesothelioma. Her research concentrates on individualizing cancer therapy through understanding the molecular mechanisms of disease. Dr. Tsao serves on the SWOG Mesothelioma Steering Committee, SWOG Lung Executive Committee, IASLC Communications Committee, and RTOG Lung Executive Committee, and is on the Scientific Board of the American Radium Society. She has been an Associate Editor of NEJM Journal Watch Oncology and Hematology since 2013.


Consultant / Advisory board
Genentech; Boehringer Ingelheim; ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Speaker's bureau

Genentech; Roche; Medimmune; Novartis; Astellas; Boehringer Ingelheim; Eli Lilly

Grant / Research support

Department of Defense; SWOG; Merck & Co.; Medimmune; NIH/National Cancer Institute; Radiation Therapy Oncology Group; Hope Foundation; Eli Lilly and Company; Millennium; American Cancer Society; Genentech

Leadership positions in professional societies

American Medical Association (Member); American Association for Cancer Research (Member); AACR–Women in Cancer Research (Member); American Society of Clinical Oncology (Member); International Mesothelioma Interest Group (Member); SWOG (Member); International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (Communications Committee Chair); American Radium Society (Chair); Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (Member); Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation (Member); National Cancer Institute–Thoracic Malignancy Steering Committee (Member)

Summaries by Anne Tsao